May 07, 2012

First Student Awards $8,000 in Scholarships to Four Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District Students in Alaska

CINCINNATI — First Student recently awarded four high school seniors in the Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District in Alaska with $8,000 in scholarships. The award money will help cover the cost of college or vocational school tuition.

The recipients of the 2012 scholarships are:

  • Zena DeLoach, Su-Valley
  • Taylor Guthrie, American Academy Charter School
  • Ean Johnson, Burchell High School
  • Laci Player, Palmer High School

The students were selected based on their GPA, a personal essay on how school transportation helped with their education and two letters of recommendation from community members. The scholarship recipients were also required to ride the school bus for a minimum of three years.

“We are proud to recognize these deserving students,” said Tom Hyatt, First Student area general manager. “Graduating from high school is quite an accomplishment, and we are happy to help these young men and women pursue their dreams through education.”

First Student will award $12,000 in scholarships to six Matanuska-Susitna Borough high school seniors in 2013, including two graduates with special needs.